Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » Children Laws » Legal Guardian » What are the Piercing Laws

What are the Piercing Laws

Listen
Body piercing laws vary significantly from one state to another. In the State of New York, the piercing age is 16. As a result, once an individual reaches the age of 16, he/she will be permitted to obtain piercings on most body parts without the consent of an adult. In order to achieve this, an individual must provide the piercing studio with a State Identification Card that states his/her birth date and provides a photograph.An individual who is 16 years of age will not be allowed to receive all types of body piercings. For instance, he/she must be at least 18 years old to obtain nipple or genital piercings. If an individual is under the age of 16, he/she can receive a body piercing with the consent of his/her parents or legal guardian. His/her parent or legal guardian must accompany him/her to the piercing studio.In addition, both parties will be required to provide State-issued identification cards. In most instances, a piercing studio will not pierce a child under the age of 13, even though state piercing laws do not prohibit this.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Piercing Laws

    Body piercing laws vary significantly from one state to another. In the State of New York, the piercing age is 16. As a result, once an individual reaches the age of 16, he/she will be permitted to obtain piercings on most body parts without the consent of an adult. In order to achieve this, an individual must provide the piercing studio with a State Identification Card that states his/her birth date and provides a photograph.

    An individual who is 16 years of age will not be allowed to receive all types of body piercings. For instance, he/she must be at least 18 years old to obtain nipple or genital piercings. If an individual is under the age of 16, he/she can receive a body piercing with the consent of his/her parents or legal guardian. His/her parent or legal guardian must accompany him/her to the piercing studio.

    In addition, both parties will be required to provide State-issued identification cards. In most instances, a piercing studio will not pierce a child under the age of 13, even though state piercing laws do not prohibit this.

    NEXT: What Are The State Associated Penalties

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN CHILDREN LAWS

    Important Facts About Child Abuse Articles
    CHILDREN LAWS
    Important Facts About Child Abuse Articles
    Make Sure You Are Aware of The Child Abuse Forums
    CHILDREN LAWS
    Make Sure You Are Aware of The Child Abuse Forums
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Operation Confirm
    Are you sure you want to delete it?
      
    Tips